If you have been charged with driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs, you should be aware that the penalties can be severe. A first-time offender faces a fine of $1,000 or more, suspension of his or her driver's license for up to four months, and most likely will be ordered to complete drunk driving education and perform community service.
If you are on probation for conviction of another offense, a DUI conviction could result in your probation being revoked.
Clearly, it is important to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney to help you defend against charges of DUI or any other criminal charge.
We Protect The Rights Of Individuals Throughout The East Bay
It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle in California if you have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent or higher. If you are under 21 — the legal drinking age in California — any amount of alcohol in your system may result in being charged with DUI.
Refusing to submit to a breath, blood or urine test will result in being arrested for DUI under California's implied consent law.
At the office of J. Francisco Karwash, Attorney at Law, in Hayward, California, we represent individuals who have been arrested for drinking and driving. Mr. Karwash is an experienced lawyer who understands the various defenses that can be used in DUI defense cases, including illegal police stops, improper administration of a field sobriety or chemical test, or a false reading on a blood, urine or breath test.
In many instances, we are able to get the charges reduced to reckless driving or another lesser traffic violation. We understand how a DUI conviction can negatively impact your work and home life. Our primary objective is to limit the impact that a DUI charge has on your life.
We work with clients throughout Alameda County and Contra Costa County. Call 510-868-0774 or email us to schedule a free consultation. We will review the facts of your case and provide an honest assessment of what you can expect as an outcome.